Why “Idea Prompts”

September 17, 2009 at 3:24 am Leave a comment

This is a Prompt for Serious Writers. It’s not for the casual writer who journals for the sheer joy of it. It’s for the advanced writer who is hungry for Ideas they can develop into saleable properties: novellas, magazine articles, plays, columns, TV series, movies…

I started this blog because I was disappointed by the lack of quality Prompt sites that are steadily updated with stimulating topics. The few active sites rely on overly simplistic topics (e.g., Write About Your Best Day Ever, or, Write a Paragraph About Puppies).

Another failing of Writing Prompts is that they’re designed for freewriting, a form of mental idling where the writer merely follows the force of gravity, the pen moving from left to right in a continual parade to the bottom of the page.

I never liked spending my writing time in pointless exercises. If I’m going to write, I want to focus on topics I’m interested in, or topics that I might could easily develop.

That’s why I call this blog My Idea Prompts, not My Writing Prompts. My purpose is to stimulate writers’ Imaginations, as I would want mine stimulated. I’m demonstrating to those who suffer frequently from Writer’s Block that good Ideas can easily be drawn from a wide variety of sources.

Each Idea Prompt will have a little explanation of where I got the idea from, plus some suggestions for developing the Idea further. If you like any of my Ideas, just leave a Comment to tell me you’re going to give it a go.

Good luck!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Conflict: Killin’ Cousins Prop: Car Door Lock

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives